MUG SERIES


Lately on Facebook I have been posting some of the paintings that feature an enamel mug, and I was asked to post photos of the series. I have included both photos and text.

I had visited the historic faming property Cheshunt on a few occasions before I found an enamel mug that has been (or will be) featured in 10 paintings to date. In some the mug has been the ‘star’, while in others it’s played a more passive role.

1. Thirsty Ground, Cheshunt – my first painting with the mug and the least successful. Here the mug was a symbol of the fragility of farming, the dependence on water to make farming viable. I made the mug too prominent and it’s placed at the wrong angle.

2. Silence at the Table – my most successful painting, winner of the 2010 City of Burnie Art Prize. This painting is full of questions and there are numerous answers depending on one’s imagination.

3. Silent Light – the mug has a more diminutive role as it sits above the fireplace in a dilapidated room dominated by a strong light. Winner of the Heritage Prize at Meandering 2010.

4. Enamel Mugscape – a prize winner at the TasArt Awards, Burnie. The mug is surrounded by its shapes, colours and patterns.

5. Cold Tea, Cheshunt – highly commended, Tasmanian Art Awards at Eskleigh. A macro view of the mug and its surroundings.

6. In the Light of Silence – this time the old enamel mug has been replaced with a clean, white china mug, a symbol of a new beginning.

7. Landscape Souvenir – the mug is the sole feature, a record of the surrounding landscape, a time capsule.

8. WIP 1. – inside the lounge room of the old former shearers’ quarters, the mug lays on a table that holds many stories.

9. WIP 2. – another (smaller) single object study with an image inside it of nearby Mother Cummings Peak.

10. WIP 3. -  a view looking outside from the hallway of the shearers’ quarters.

I hope to finish all 3 ‘works in progress’ by the end of the year.

The mug continues to provide me with inspiration and I’m sure that it will feature in more paintings to come.

Richard

MUG COLLECTION

4 Responses to “MUG SERIES”

  1. Richard, My favourites from your mug series are 2, 3 6 and 10 probably in that order.

    • Thanks Edna for commenting. Number 2 is my favourite, but I haven’t listed any more in order, except 10., that I hope will be successful. Another one I did, ‘Cheshunt View’ is my number 2., but it doesn’t feature the mug.

  2. Love the series Richard, who would have thought such a humble find would provide such rich inspiration. Karen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 158 other followers

