STARTING OUT


SUMMER STILL-LIFE BAKERS BEACH OUTLINEGRID DESIGNI have decided to start another drawing, the third in a series of shells. Planning any artwork involves time and research. I had already been away and taken about 60 photos at Baker’s Beach, on the north coast of Tasmania. From these I have selected two images that have been cropped from their original state and are now completed colour pencil drawings. For my third I chose 5 ‘possible’ scenes and have decided on one in particular.

Today I want you to see the basic outline of the composition but to understand why I chose this particular composition.

The drawing is 80 x 34 cm, a ‘panorama’ view as I like to call it. The composition is divided into 4 parts: Parts 1 & 4 are large rocks that act as ‘buttresses’ to the subject, shells, which will be located in parts 2 & 3. One particular shell is the focal point and will be located close to the centre-right.

Next week I will start to add colour and detail. I will post updates later in the week of the drawing’s development.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

