ABSTRACT ART CLASS 1.


JUDY 01

Last Friday I conducted an art class for the Launceston Art Society entitled, “Painting Without Brushes”. We spent the day applying paint with small pieces of mountboard cut into various widths. Ice cream sticks and fingers were also employed. Brushes were banned! I wanted everyone to experience working with thick paint using the landscape as subject matter but being more concerned with the process rather than the product. What compositions that transpired were of an abstract nature. No real attempt was made to create any image that was realistic. This was a real challenge for this group of tradtional artists, but the all had the spirit of adventure, something that is necessary when you step out of your ‘comfort zone’.

I’m sure that when you look at today’s image painted by Judy, that you can see a landscape. It doesn’t matter if you don’t, that’s not the point of the exercise. The artist has a strong affinity with landscape painting and it was not an unexpected outcome. She did however, thoroughly enjoy the painting process. How often under such circumstances do we ‘paint what we know’.

Tomorrow I shall post something far more abstract.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to ABSTRACT ART CLASS 1.

  1. I actually saw trees, right off the bat! XD

  2. I have NO idea! XD
    It reminds me of a couple of things, if that’s valid also: It reminded me of fire and maybe like a mangrove swamp.

    • artkleko says:

      I saw a mangrove swamp too. It’s interesting when you turn an image around and view it from all 4 angles. There is though, one view that works best, where the composition is balanced.

  3. I don’t agree with the above post, and would like to pick up on a few of the OP’s points. Not everyone will see it this way and though I am one of them, I do respect your right to have your view. Either way I have enjoyed reading ABSTRACT ART CLASS 1. Artkleko's Weblog.

  4. I have bookmarked this page, keep up the great writing!

  5. nfl jerseys says:

    I just couldnt leave your website before saying that I really enjoyed the useful information you offer to your visitors¡­ Will be back soon to check up on new stuff you post!

Leave a Reply

