RELIGION & ART Part 4.


BROKEN RULES“Broken Rules”, Coloured Pencil on Canson Pastel Board.

FOOL'S PARADISE“Fool’s Paradise”, Coloured Pencil on Canson Pastel Board.

Today’s post features landscapes as symbolic representations of Christian faith. I use rocks and logs regularly for both Christian and secular commentary.

“Broken Rules”, came from a photo I took of a group of rocks at Sisters Beach, in North West Tasmania. The image actually gave me the idea as one of the rocks looked like a stone tablet. I also included other related symbols. This drawing is a comment on the (Australian)secular society. We all need rules to abide by and when we ignore them there is a price to pay.

“Fool’s Paradise”, came from a still-life that I ‘built’ from sticks and stones. This time I had the idea before I developed the image. It’s a comment on our attitudes to life ,the land and ‘beyond’. We may think everything is all right, but it’s not. Drought and related environmental issues are are real worry in Australia. It seems to parallel our increasing secular focus.

Trying to blend Christian commentary and landscape elements is a real challenge, but one that I enjoy. Some of the places that I visit with my camera provide excellent source material. I do enjoy collecting stuff (what artist doesn’t) and ‘playing’ with them in my backyard with a sunny day to give me strong light and shadow. I’m currently looking at “The Last Supper” in landscape form. I haven’t resolved the idea yet, but I’m sure it will come to me!

Finally, the image below is a banner titled, “Christ the King”, and as as in the first image, features the Ten Commandments.

Richard

CHRIST THE KING BANNER

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to RELIGION & ART Part 4.

  1. I’m SO glad you posted “Broken Rules”! @____@

    That one is seriously so beautiful and I think I’d buy it if I could!

    And that banner is GORGEOUS! I think I’d really enjoy looking at it up close.
    The knotting in the middle, did you create it yourself?
    I mean, it must have Celtic base, yeah? But did you invent the knotting yourself?
    And how’d you choose the symbols to represent the Commandments?

  2. Thanks Gabriela for your post. “Broken Rules” was acquired as the winner of The Holy Trinity Art Prize, here in Launceston last year. I am to be head judge in this year’s award, which will be interesting.
    The Celtic designs for the banner aren’t mine, they are come from different Celtic patterns that I researched. The rest of the content is mine or adaptations of known symbols.The designs down each side of the Cross are examples of Celtic knots. I chose them because I thought they would balance the design of the composition.

Leave a Reply

