ART & RELIGION Part 7.


LAST TREE STANDING“Last Tree Standing”

PAYING HOMAGE“Paying Homage”

HARVEST TIME“Harvest Time”

BORN AGAIN“Born Again”

TREES, LOGS & STUMPS

For my final post in this series I thought I’d share some of the work I’ve done using trees, logs and stumps for religious symbolism and social commentary.

They are in chronological order beginning some 2 1/2 years ago when I explored piles of logs in groups, often oval or circular in shape. The second example came from a trip to the nearby council tip where I set up a still-life with sticks. I thought the humble surroundings were very appropriate!

The last two drawings came from my “Logjam” series. The third example has a strong environmental message, while the last example belongs to a “re-birth” theme as was illustrated in yesterday’s post.

I find natural objects appropriate (and interesting) to work with. I also like the double meanings that often result from such work.

All the work featured today is for sale. Prices on request: artkleko@bigpond.net.au

Richard

Tomorrow: Are abstracts in coloured pencil “viable”?

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

