SMART DRAWING


STUDIO PENCILS

In Tasmania art materials seem to increase 2 or 3 times a year in price, or is that just my imagination? Unfortunately, artists can’t put the price of their paintings up each time their materials get dearer. It’s quite unfair. The solution? Think smarter! I usually buy my coloured pencils in bulk and stick to a particular group of colours. I work on the same coloured pastel board  (which I also buy in bulk)and don’t waste a scrap if I can help it. I try to draw in particular sizes, to get the best value out of each sheet. This makes it easier to frame and also to replace one drawing with another that has been previously framed and not sold, a good form of recycling.

I’ve experimented a good deal over the past 20 years to find what works best for me. Your style and preference for mediums do have a great influence on your budget.

One thing I will not compromise on is framing. I have the services of a brilliant framer and have come to realise how important it is to present your art in the best possible way. In saying that though, I am never extravagant with the mouldings I choose. You can frame your work very well even on a budget. Sticking to a restricted frame size will give you a more accurate idea on what your framing costs will be.

Art is an expensive past time, but it doesn’t have to be a burden on your plastic card!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to SMART DRAWING

  1. Dors says:

    Good advice Richard. I love my art toys but I am not extravagant. I only buy what I need, except for maybe a few trial sheets of paper.
    If I want to try a different medium. If it’s CP then I will buy a half dozen just to try them out first.

    I agree the framing will make or break a painting/drawing. I take all my work to the framers.

Leave a Reply

