OPPORTUNITY KNOCKS


STRANGERS ON THE SHORE

Strangers on the Shore 40 x 80cm.

Coloured pencil on grey Canson Pastel Board.

I made a decision at the beginning of the year to do less, but better work. Although I’m pleased with my results I can’t help myself when a new or different experience comes along such as the recent floods that we’ve had in northern Tasmania.

I have this urge to do a ‘flood’ drawing but at this stage I’m not sure what I want to do. I am doing a lot of research and cropping some of the flood photos I took last Saturday. We’ll see what comes out of this! Whatever it is, I know that I must be patient. As long as the urge remains ‘fresh’, I should be able to start a new drawing before the end of the week.

Today’s image is all but complete. I will no doubt find something to touch up before it is framed. It’s destined for an exhibition in Hobart early next year.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to OPPORTUNITY KNOCKS

  1. Chelsea says:

    I was really looking forward to seeing what you did with those shells. They look perfect. You are really drawn over to them. And yay for an exhibition in Hobart!

  2. Hi Chelsea, nice to hear from you! I have an obvious fondness for rocks and shells as you can see. There’s a lot more to them though, than meets the eye!

  3. Lorraine McNeair says:

    Haven’t been here for a while Richard – with TASART fast approaching I have been extremely busy, and then I got the flu, along with my husband, and have been out of the world for three weeks. I took some photos of the flood at Latrobe yesterday, too, and would like to do something with them. I can’t get over those pumpkin paintings – amazing. One of those for TASART would be great. Lorraine

    • artkleko says:

      Nice to hear from you Lorraine and I’m glad you are feeling better. I have one drawing for Tasart and will consider a ‘pumpkin’ piece if it works out. I shall post an update of my first drawing tomorrow.
      Regards, Richard

  4. Lorraine McNeair says:

    Good morning Richard. I meant to say the other day when I commented on your pumpkin series that you have perfected the art of making ordinary, everyday objects look sensual. There is a Tasmanian artist – whose name escapes me – who used to do the same with her charcoal drawings of pieces of fruit. Well done – as I said before I just love what you have done. I would not have the patience that you have working with coloured pencils.

  5. Thanks Lorriane. The artist you are thinking of is Patricia Clark, whose drawings of pears I clearly remember. I spoke with her not so long ago.
    Cheers, Richard

  6. Lorraine McNeair says:

    Yes, Richard, Patricia Clark – we were only talking about her work recently, and wondered where she had got to, as we had not heard from her for a long time.

Leave a Reply

