SIGNING YOUR ARTWORK


SIGN 01

SIGN 02

SIGN 03

SIGN 04

SIGN 05

How do you sign your artwork?

For many years I used to print my surname and the year of completion for all of my paintings and drawings. I have included some examples from the 90s and 80s.

Since then I have omitted the date and just printed my surname. I don’t sell a lot of artwork and think that if it’s dated, “it’s dated”.

It’s important that your name/signature doesn’t overpower your painting. I’ve seen on numerous occasions lovely artwork spoilt by a large, dark and cumbersome name splattered across for all to see. One wants to view the painting, not the artist’s name!

When you do sign your work, being subtle is essential. Your name should blend in or fit neatly into the composition.

My style of signature has varied slightly over the years. I remember in the late 70s signing my work with my personal signature which was then and still is today, almost impossible to decipher!

Richard


About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

