THE TRUTH ABOUT OIL PASTELS Part 3.


OIL PASTEL TRUTH 03In the late 1980s my oil pastel drawing became a lot more hard – edged, and I concentrated on close-up views of landscapes. The more work I did, the simpler my style became. Tomorrow I will post more “simplified” examples.

Top: Early Snow, Mt. Ben Lomond Second: Still-Life, Greens Beach Third: Pond, Lake St. Clair Fourth: Leaves, Lake St. Clair

Why did my work head this way? I think it was more to do with maturing rather than the influence of the medium. It would be true to say that the medium was not suited to my style at that time. Looking back it’s easy to see that I should have used paint rather than oil pastel. I didn’t get into digital art until 1999, which is a pity as where I was then would have suited what computer art had to offer.

As an artist it is vital that you challenge (and experiment) yourself as often as possible if you wish to “grow”. I love the challenge of trying something new. Focussing on a single subject/theme is not a bad thing as long as you try to express yourself in as broad a range as possible. When you are simply “rubber stamping” your work, stop and move on to something new and fresh.

Tomorow: The Verdict

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

