BELIEVE IN YOURSELF


BRADY'S LOOKOUT

Brady’s Lookout 1986

Faber Castell Pastels on Canson Paper.

For more than six months I have been working on my entry for the Glover Prize 2010. I don’t think I’ve put as much into this in my 20 years of coloured pencil drawing as I have on this one. It’s been a labour of love, of obsession, determination and the belief that I am creating a drawing of personal significance.

As with entering any Art Award, I may not impress the judges and make the final in March next year.

Creating such art is a huge personal risk and a gamble. You think you’ve got something special, but the judges think otherwise.

I believe this is the best drawing I have ever done, better than my Glover entry which made this year’s final. But that was then and this is now.

Yes, I will be disappointed if I don’t make the final, but I won’t be heart-broken. One thing I do know is that I have poured myself into my entry. I have planned it almost to the point of obsession at getting it “right”. Hour after hour, day after day, week after week and month after month I have watched it grow in my studio. I don’t work on it every day, preferring breaks where I can get it out of my mind before coming back to see it and work out what needs development, what tone is wrong, where should I add detail, mood, light, shadow etc.

THIS IS WHAT ART IS ALL ABOUT

Artists must be driven even to the point of being obsessive-compulsive about their work.

My work is who I am, what I’m about; I’m shouting out visually to anyone who will stop and look.

I’m not showing this particular drawing on this blog until next year. This is my journey at this point in time, but I will be happy to share it with anyone who is interested at a later date.

Meanwhile, the struggle to get it finished goes on. I’m taking the drawing to my framer this week to have it valued and discuss its framing.

I know have to “let go” soon, and let the drawing speak for itself. It’s going to be hard, there’s a lot of “me” in this piece.

Tomorrow: How do you know when to stop and let go?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BELIEVE IN YOURSELF

  1. Dors says:

    I understand your feeling. I have feelings like that but not on a scale as you do . But then I am not a professional artists as you are .
    I do wish you all the best and hope you get into the final. I would love to see your drawing..when you are ready to show.

    I put my heart and soul into my work. I have a long way to go yet..I’ll never stop trying.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Dors, I can see that you are passionate about your work and that’s how it should be. Art isn’t about being told what to say; it’s about understanding ourselves, then telling anyone who will (see) listen.

Leave a Reply

