FINDING THE RIGHT MEDIUM Part 2.


ROBERTSON'S MARSH

An example from my oil painting days: Robertson’s Marsh at Lake Sorell.

You may wonder why I have been showing  a variety of artwork lately. The reason is that I have become a coloured pencil artist as a result of working with a broad range of art mediums over the years. I needed to find which medium was most suited to my ideas, personality and the way I see things.

Looking back to my stint as painter in oils in the late 1970s and early 80s, I realise that I enjoyed the product more than the process. The opposite applies to my work in acrylics. I think the main reason was the (then) slow drying times that really didn’t suit me and that’s where acrylics appealed to me. I find working in acrylics very therapeutic , but the finish (look) of oils appeals to me more.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to FINDING THE RIGHT MEDIUM Part 2.

  1. Dors says:

    That’s interesting Richard. I started in oils in the 1990’s and love it. I used to love to get my fingers into the painting and mould it. LOL but it always took for ever to dry. I have never tried Acrylics . At the moment I am enjoying graphite and CP’s

Leave a Reply

