FINDING THE RIGHT MEDIUM Part 4.


ELDON RANGE

Eldon Range, West Coast 1978

Acrylic on canvas   125 x 95 cm

Acrylic Days

In the late 1970s, I produced a lot of acrylic paintings. I loved the medium because it was fast-drying and easy to apply. I painted large, often up to two metres by one metre and to make things even better, I sold enough to ‘keep me going’.

It’s amazing how a few sales can keep one’s spirits up! I found canvas the best surface to paint on and I stretched my own frames. These were good days, but as time went by my interest in acrylics waned somewhat and I sought other ways to express my ideas.

I still enjoy working with acrylics when painting worship banners for my church, but feel that my loyalties are with coloured pencils at this point in time.

What next?

For the past 10 years I have ‘dabbled’ in digital art. I am a Mac computer fan and have an IMac, and a MacBook Pro laptop; I love them both!

Tomorrow I shall talk about some of my digital art exploits.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

