SYMBOLIC LANDSCAPE


SYMBOLS

My latest drawing, Symbolic Landscape, owes its creation to Irish artist April Jarocka. I love her work and was very impressed with her paintings of rock piles, so much so that I spent some time “playing” with some of my rocks and sticks to see what I could come up with.

I have included 4 of the photos I took, some of which may end up as coloured pencil drawings.

For once I set out with no clear idea in mind as to what I wanted to “say”. I liked the composition that I eventually drew because of its balance. I noticed that there were 13 sticks (I had intended to use 12) and 3 stones. The Holy Trinity surrounded by the Disciples?  Remember, Matthias replaced Judas. The top rock represents God the Father, then Jesus (flesh colour), followed by The Holy Spirit in blue (sky).

Not every artwork has to be totally planned before its creation.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SYMBOLIC LANDSCAPE

  1. This piece is.. pretty amazing O_O

    And I LOVE the explanation!

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Gabriela. I think it’s good sometimes to ‘just do it’, without the complex planning that I often do with my art. There’s a lot of value in subconscious art.

  2. Richard, I found this post by accident through the blogcatalog and am delighted to see I have been an inspiration somewhere in your work…(blushes). Ah hem.
    These are beautiful little pebbles…can I paint them? Only joking!! I haven’t blogged at wordpress for a while as I am busy back on blogger…oh, the joys of having three art blogs. Too many. Anyway.. all explained there and much going on as you’ll see.
    All the best
    April 😉

    http://www.apriljarocka.blogspot.com

    • artkleko says:

      Lovely hearing from you again April. I trust all is well with you and your family. Yes, one can see a “Jarocka rock” influence in my work of late.

Leave a Reply

