ABSTRACTED ART EXHIBITION


Last night 90 people attended the opening of Abstracted, an exhibition of 65 paintings by 9 local artists at Country Club Tasmania in Launceston. The theme was Mystery and all the abstract work  was produced over the past 12 months through a series of workshops that I conducted with the Launceston Art Society. This was a wonderful experience for me personally and I was extremely satisfied with the collection of paintings on display.

The exhibition is a delightful spectacle, rich in colour and texture. I recommend you pay a visit to the Mezzanine Gallery if you have the opportunity. The exhibition concludes on February 21, next year.

I chose 3 paintings that I considered the most outstanding. I wanted to acknowledge those artists who had fully embraced the Mystery theme as well as display a true understanding of abstract art. Local art suppliers Philcam Art & Framing sponsored a prize of $250 for the Best of Show painting. I also presented two Highly Commended awards. As far as I was concerned, all the artists were winners and I congratulate them on the efforts they made, the challenges they faced and their motivation and determination to succeed; and they did!

Top: Jenny Brindle’s “Mystery One”, was awarded Best of Show. Its composition is simple, with examples of both the accidental and control. The diamond is intriguing; what’s behind it? That’s what mystery is all about!

Middle: Marnie Peachey’s“Towards New Life”, is a painting rich in texture and abstraction. A very clever composition. The addition of tiles works beautifully.

Bottom: Karolina Smith’s “Hitched on Line”, is a clever use of string as line. Layers of paint applied by brush and fingers. Busy, animated and a great visual feast.

Tomorrow I will publish comments about the exhibition as a whole accompanied by more of the paintings on display.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ABSTRACTED ART EXHIBITION

  1. Dors says:

    STUNNING work. Wish I could get there to see these wonderful pieces in real.

  2. Keri says:

    Hello Richard Klekociuk

    I happened upon your blog yesterday and became a wrapped audience immediately. I’m loving your art work. All of it. In particular, I was drawn to your work with bread, for obvious reasons.

    I hope you don’t mind, I’ve put a little blurb about you on my blog at http://www.samwich365.com. The worst that can come of it is extra traffic to your sites and maybe a sale.

    Happy Holidays and thank you for sharing your rich talent with the world.
    Keri

Leave a Reply

