ADDING MOOD AND MYSTERY


My latest drawing has “grown” since my last post. There is still much to do and this is not just about adding the required detail. This is a “mood” drawing. The old, wooden door is partly open revealing a dark, mysterious room with an old mug on a table. A shaft of light hits a mug on an old table top. Another shaft of light reveals the floor and an object in front of the table. What is this object and what is it doing there?

The door will be the most interesting subject, but is it the focal point? I’m detailing the door last as there is much graffiti to add.

I am working mostly with Polychromos coloured pencils on pastel board. My palette is mainly warm greys with the lighter tone on the door courtesy of Prismacolor 10% Cool Grey. There are many layers employed due to the subtle nature of the shadow areas. I still have more to add to the back wall and the door.

The room itself is dark and very dusty. It seems that it has been left “as-is” many years ago. It is indeed a fascinating place and a brilliant subject for artists!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ADDING MOOD AND MYSTERY

  1. Dors says:

    Very intriguing and mysterious piece. I love the mood of this pencil painting and on the floor well. I am thinking maybe some marbles and a marble bag, a bottle lay on its side. Oh when do we get to really know what it really is. ? LOL

  2. Dors says:

    LOL now you really have me thinking. If the object is partly in the shaft of light… then maybe it is the end of a rifle only visible in the light shaft. ??

    Is time I gave up and be patient here. Laughing.

  3. Gillian says:

    Just the sort of subject I love. Something old and dusty. Maybe because I’m old and dusty too?

    Nice work on the door. Will await the final work with interest. Hey – no bread? Maybe that’s the mystery object. ^_~

  4. Deborah says:

    I love this drawing, Richard. It’s not your usual style, very surprising. And I love the rusted cup.

    • artkleko says:

      Thankyou Deborah. I will post the finished drawing tomorrow. I am working on a theme involving, light, shadow, mood and mark-making and have started another drawing featuring a door.

Leave a Reply

