DERWENT COLOURSOFT


I have favoured Polychromos and Prismacolor pencils for my coloured pencil drawings, but I recently purchased a tin of 72 Derwent Coloursoft pencils. I thought it was about time that I broadened my palette. I am also interested in purchasing some Blick coloured pencils.

I think that cp artists should be prepared to try as many products as possible, especially if they are new to the market. Living in such a far away place as Tasmania, I’m not able to access the broad range of products that are available in Europe and North America. Thank goodness for the Internet and Paypal!

Four colours from my latest acquisition have already appeared on my current drawing. The pencils seem quite chalky and the colours are more intense than I have been previously working with.  I have already tested the greys and was surprised that they are much darker than I expected. The greens and blues look promising in regards to the colours of the Tasmanian landscape. I am looking forward to producing a purely Coloursoft drawing over the Christmas break.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DERWENT COLOURSOFT

  1. Gillian says:

    Here’s another soul who’s forever grateful for the internet and Paypal!
    I bought a set of Coloursoft back in the summer but found them a bit crumbly after using Prismas. Better with a toothy paper though. I shall be interested to see your upcoming work using them, Richard.

    • artkleko says:

      I agree Gillian that the Coloursoft pencils’ crumbly nature make them more suited to toothy paper. I have already done some testing and my first serious piece will be on medium toothed paper, probably white, one that I rarely use these days.

Leave a Reply

