TURNING UP THE HEAT


My last two cp drawings have involved rooms in an old farm building. I’ve enjoyed both of these works and am keen to draw more, the only drawback being that I haven’t any further material to draw (sorry for the pun) upon. I shall wait until another opportunity comes along. There are a number of historic farming properties not far from where I live, and I intend to visit some in the new year.

In the meantime I have taken an interest in fireplaces, both outside and in. The two examples posted today are from Cheshunt (top), while the bottom image is a photo of a fire that my eldest stepson Matthew, built and lit a couple of years ago at Brushy Lagoon, a popular fishing location about an hour’s drive from Launceston.

I am currently working on an idea for the latter. This is to be a religious drawing titled, “Liar, liar, liar”, and is a commentary on Peter’s denial of Christ, and our own denial with a ‘twist’,  that it’s set both in the past and the present. It’s still a work in progress, but I expect to draw up the details this week.

This drawing will not sit comfortably with some people, in fact it will be quite confronting. Artists have a responsibility to tell it how they see it.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TURNING UP THE HEAT

  1. Gillian says:

    So – will 2010 be the year of the fireplace? How about doing a fireplace with a bread oven – like many historic ones in the UK.
    Love the look of that top fireplace – it will suit your style very well methinks. I can’t believe how organised you are – prolific too.

    • artkleko says:

      Good idea Gillian, I shall file that one for future reference. I had another idea from researching my latest drawing that I will publish on Christmas Eve. I’m not sure if fireplaces will be a theme in 2010, but it’s a start! I will write a post before the end of the year concerning goal setting.

Leave a Reply

