THE HUNTER


Artists find inspiration in all manner of places and situations. For me, it usually requires a visit to a location to gather ideas. I do this by taking a lot of photos and collecting objects where possible.

I rarely visit a place with a specific idea in mind. I usually don’t get ideas immediately after the visit. It’s often several days before anything comes to fruition.

When I visited Brickendon last week I knew that I would see old farm buildings (old by Australian standards) and there would be animals and machinery. All I wanted to do was have a good look at the place and take in the atmosphere as well as record as many images as I felt necessary.

Today’s images are a small sample of what I saw.

I still do not know what drawings I will undertake as I result of my visit. I need to go there again, soon, probably later this week.  I am interested in the Blacksmiths’ Shop, the Cookhouse, the Farm Cottage and the Slaughter House.

On my next visit I will spend some time sitting inside these buildings and try to image what occurred there so long ago. There will be more photos taken as well as notes and some sketches. My drawings will be about the past because these are historical buildings, no longer in active use except for the Cookhouse.

I don’t see my role as a ‘recorder’ of the past. I want to interpret the emotional and physical aspects of each of these particular buildings – the silence, the marks left behind and the interplay of light and shadow.

This is how I go about my art. I research a topic, plan ideas and see which ones capture my interest sufficiently to end up as completed coloured pencil drawings.

What do you do?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to THE HUNTER

  1. Tomas says:

    While viewing your photos, the heroes of fairy tales visited me – thank you for the wonderful time I had.
    It was a pleasure to read your post. We both create the same way. My works record through the interpretation too. Such approach transforms common postcards into the visual story of our inner world.

  2. Dors says:

    I can just imagine being there and seeing these treasures.. not only to photograph and draw but just the articles themselves. so interesting and inspiring

Leave a Reply

