ART TROPHIES


The big studio clean-out has begun! I noticed these two trophies on top of a wardrobe that I had won in the 1990s. Trophies for art awards are not that common, but they are to be valued.

The top image is of a drawing titled, “Sunset, Anniversary Bay (NW Coast)”, I did for the 1993 Royal Hobart Show that gained second place in the Drawing Section. The image below, “Morning Glow, Sunny Braes, Ringarooma”, also gained second place in the same section of the Show’s 1996 Art Awards.

Both drawings were created using Polychromos pencils on the gold printmaking paper that I spoke about last year. This paper always gave off a pleasant golden glow as I applied the pencil colours in single strokes, leaving gaps that enabled to paper’s surface to play a role in determining the composition’s overall feel. I still have some of that particular paper left not only in gold, but ochre brown and a light green colour.

Now it’s back to my studio clean-up. I shall divide my time between sorting and continuing with the drawing pictured in yesterday’s post.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ART TROPHIES

  1. Dors says:

    Congratulations Richard. I have never heard of the gold printmaking paper.. sounds lovely.

    Must be wonderful to have trophies for your work.

    Thank you for sharing these with us.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Dors, I wish I could remember the name of the paper. It had a medium tooth and was superb to work with. Other than the pastel board I use, I’ve found better.

  2. Chelsea says:

    I threw out a basketball trophy a few weeks ago and today just saw it on my 10 year olds drawers with all her prized possessions!!!! he he. She saw it in the bin and fished it out! Another hoarder like her Mum! Havent been commenting lately but I am regularly checking and enjoying your posts Mr K!

Leave a Reply

