TASMANIAN LANDSCAPES IN CP


Here are 3 coloured pencil drawings that I came across the other day.

Top: Lake Lilla, with Cradle Mountain in the background. I used Polychromos pencils on printmaking paper and its colour can be seen in the creek bed.

Middle: Winter at Lake St. Clair (yes, we do get snow in Tasmania!) I tried to give this drawing a ‘bleak’ feel with a limited palette using Polychromos pencils on Canson paper.

Bottom: Anniversary Bay, NW Tasmania. Prismacolor pencils on Canson paper.

In my ‘early days’ of coloured pencil drawing the main focus on my work was the ‘Tasmanian landscape light’. As time went by I became interested in shadow more than light, but it’s great to re-visit some of my earlier work. I see things in them today that I wasn’t aware of when I drew them, such as the movement of water and the reflection of light. I suppose it’s to do with maturity through experience.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TASMANIAN LANDSCAPES IN CP

  1. Tomas says:

    Your colored pencils put me under a charm… That’s just incredible. I just literally smell the wind while viewing your pictures. They knock on the heart-your landscapes are the keys to the mystery of our innr life.

  2. Thank you Tomas, you are very kind and I’m glad my drawings give you such a positive feeling.

  3. syllah says:

    Beautiful painting!best wishes!

Leave a Reply

