SKETCHING


Today we celebrate Australia Day.

The other day I found two sketches from the 1980s. I say ‘sketches’ rather than drawings because they were ‘quick’ to create.

Top: A collection of objects above the high water mark at Greens Beach, on the Northern coast of Tasmania. This was one of a series I did using Derwent pencils and a sketch pad. This was the time when I was beginning to get interested in coloured pencils. What I liked (then) was the immediacy of the medium and its ease of application.

Bottom: An oil pastel sketch of a creek near Mathinna in Tasmania’s Northeast. At the beginning of the 1980s I was very involved in oil pastel drawing. I still love to work with them because of their ease of application and strong colours.

Comparing the two examples I would conclude that although oil pastels can be a little messy at times, they are great for ‘quick’ work. It’s a pity they don’t get the respect they deserve.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

