LUNCH ANYONE?


Tasmanian Take-Away

80 x 40 cm Derwent Coloursoft Pencils on Canson Pastel Board

My latest drawing is complete, except for a little touching – up. I stuck to to my plan of working exclusively with Derwent Coloursoft pencils and I’m pleased with the result. Unlike Prismacolors, these pencils didn’t break and were easy to sharpen. Some though at times were a little crumbly. These pencils deserve respect and I’m sure I will use them again. I would love to see some more lighter greys added as very few in this tonal range exist in the set of 72.

The drawing is a tongue-in-cheek look at Tasmanian life based on a collection of objects that I photographed in Hobart earlier in the year. The drawing contains a piece of lemon rind, potato chips, cigarette butts, a nectarine stone, a tiny nail, bits of paper, part of a screw-top bottle cap, pieces of plastic and a zipper handle. The yellow areas are  lines painted on the bitumen surface.

I have commenced another drawing, this being a study of rocks with fascinating abstract patterns.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to LUNCH ANYONE?

  1. Chelsea says:

    love the yellow lines painted on the bitumen. It really looks like its meant to… that thick, oozy, yellow paint worn and flaked… and I might have been responsible for that nectarine pip!!!

Leave a Reply

