MATURE CHEESE


Nature’s Art Gallery

60 x 80 cm   Prismacolor and Polychromos pencils on Canson Pastel Board

I love cheese, especially matured varieties, although I won’t come at blue cheese, very smelly cheese or cheese that ‘moves’ across off the plate and along the table.

Here in Tasmania we are fortunate to have some of the best cheese producers in the country, indeed the world.

Art is like cheese in that over time as artists mature, so does their work. Some may be smelly too, but that’s got nothing to do with the standard of their art!

I would like to think that an artist’s next artwork will be their best and this is often the case. The more we challenge ourselves, the better we (should) get. It’s all to do with risk-taking and setting goals.

I don’t know if it’s wise to work in one medium for all of your artistic career. I have primarily worked in coloured pencil for the past 22 years and I’m looking to change after thinking (not that long ago) that I should stick to coloured pencil. I have this urge to paint again. I’m not a good painter, but I have a few ideas in mind that would be useful for me to pursue.

Artists should never be complacent and ‘comfortable’. Producing the same kind of work over and over again can stifle artistic growth. One can always improve on one’s efforts.

Today’s featured drawing needs some minor finishing touches, but it’s been a pleasant experience and now I look forward to a new subject and a new drawing.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to MATURE CHEESE

  1. april jarocka says:

    Richard I can not agree more with you about challenging oneself constantly. It’s certainly a sign of maturity. I think you should certainly paint and I am sure you’re better than you say you are.
    I look forward to seeing what you come up with!

  2. Hey man , thanks for writing but this post doesn’t format correctly when using Firefox it is doubled up.

Leave a Reply

