DEVELOPING A THEME


My latest drawing is part of a theme that I have been drawing on and off for the past 12 months involving sticks and stones, or rocks and logs, depending on the scale of the objects.

Working with a theme ( a common thread) is a good idea providing that you don’t end up ‘rubber stamping’, ie. each artwork virtually looks the same.

In today’s featured drawing ( 60 x 80cm) I have drawn layers of logs, between which I will add a variety of interesting stones. There’s nothing deep and meaningful with this drawing, it’s just a celebration of natural objects.

The last drawing I did featuring rocks and logs had no background; this one will.

As a result of this drawing I have come up with a very surrealistic approach that I will feature in my next drawing. But first I have to finish this one!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

