BLACKLEAD PENCILS Part 1.


After charcoal and chalk, the humble blacklead pencil would have to be the basic mark-making tool artists use.

Before I became a serious coloured pencil artist I worked with blackleads for a number of years. Despite their monotoned appearance they are very rewarding to work with.

This series of blog posts will look at blackleads as a genuine art medium and I’ll discuss the various ways that I have employed them.

Today’s featured drawings are from 1984 and feature landscapes near Perth, in Northern Tasmania. What you will notice is the amount of dark tone I used back then. This was due no doubt to my hard-edged painting style that I developed at Art School before I began my art teaching career.

Dark pencils appealed to me because of their immediate strength of tone. I also worked on rough, heavy watercolour paper for a lot of my early drawings. Both of today’s drawings were done on a relatively smooth cartridge paper. As you will see over the coming days, I experimented with different papers and over time, a broader range of pencils.

Tomorrow I will discuss the range of pencils and papers that I have worked with.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to BLACKLEAD PENCILS Part 1.

  1. Dors says:

    Very nice pencil work Richard. I love working the graphite pencils.
    I am looking forward to your discussion on pencils and paper.

    A wonderfully interesting topic.

  2. Thanks Dors.
    I think these pencils are much underrated and deserve respect.

  3. link says:

    Thanks for sharing the information. I found the details incredibly helpful.

  4. Mika says:

    Continuez comme ça !

  5. Hey very nice site! you have some awesome material on your website.
    I found this recently in a search

Leave a Reply

