THE GLOVER PRIZE 2011


“Let the Operation Begin …”

Today’s post is number 500.

With this year’s Glover Prize still very much ‘alive’ in my mind, I have commenced my entry for next year. As is so often the case, I have laid out all the coloured pencils that I think I will need. This drawing will be 60 x 120 cm, maybe slightly wider, but I shall see how it progresses over the next 9 months. I want it finished before Christmas. I have tentatively planned a second drawing which my be realised later on.

I am once again using coloured pencil despite  no representation from this medium in this year’s Glover Prize. I relish the challenge of competing against the ‘big guns’ (oil and acrylic) once more.

I am not revealing any details concerning what the drawing is about except that it will be loud and colourful.

Why have I started an entry so early? You need to start when you have an idea, not before. While a subject is fresh in your mind you must put it to paper, then onto canvas, board or whatever you paint on. Strike while the iron is hot!

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to THE GLOVER PRIZE 2011

  1. Lorraine McNeair says:

    I am hoping Richard that after I do your workshop I will be able to come up with a new idea, too. In bed last night (my thinking time, instead of sleeping) I came up with an idea which I will try.

  2. I hope your idea works out for you Lorraine.

  3. Bun says:

    Ohhh good luck Mr K… hope it stays fresh and exciting for you the whole way through!

  4. Dors says:

    An early start.What better way .
    Good luck Richard and I hope it all runs smoothly over the next 9 months. At least you can pick up when the mood takes you without any panic to hurry.

    Nice color choice.
    Go for it Richard, make it the best. 😀

  5. Pingback: student loans without cosigner

Leave a Reply

