HOW TO WIN AN ART PRIZE: Part 2.


Choose the art prize that best’ fits’ the type of art that you do. This is really important, as you want to have the best chance of having your work selected. Why go to all the trouble of producing a painting for it to be refused? I have experienced this, but one has to deal with such rejection and simply get on with life. You are only as strong as your weakest link. Some artists give up after a bad experience, while others are very selective in which prizes they enter. If your work is rejected, how you personally deal with it is important. Never take rejection as a personal slur. One person’s judgement can have a  powerful impact on an artist’s career. Having had art judging experience I know how important this role is.

I enjoy entering art prizes and have done so ‘seriously’ for about 20 years. I still remember the first ever art prize that I entered as a first-year art school student. I was chosen as one of the 50 finalists only to have the head judge publicly criticise my painting at the official opening. I had the last laugh as I was the only one who sold their work!

During the past 10 years I have been fortunate to win a number of awards and be a finalist in several prominent exhibitions. I would say that being a finalist in last year’s Glover Art prize has been the highlight for me at this point in time. I didn’t make this year’s final, but I’ll try again for next year’s.

I enjoy the challenges that entering art prizes bring. I am selective in what I enter. I try to visit as many exhibitions as I can to not only see what is hung, but what is chosen for the various awards on offer.

Winning an art prize is wonderful, but so is gaining a judges’ commendation and let’s not forget selling your work, that’s always a bonus.

I suppose my biggest incentive for entering art prizes is that I am a coloured pencil artist. I am often judged against oil, acrylic and watercolour painters.

I relish this challenge!

Today’s images are three more of my drawings that have been awarded prizes.

More tomorrow.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to HOW TO WIN AN ART PRIZE: Part 2.

  1. Are you available to create a t-shirt design within 2 weeks for our World Run Day event? We get about 2000 people participating and I came across your site.

    Bill McDermott
    World Run Day

Leave a Reply

