CLIMBING MT. EVEREST


GLOVER PRIZE: UPDATE 3.

There is no doubt that entering an art prize with the status of The Glover, is a monumental task. Each year about 43 paintings are chosen from as many as 280 entries from all over Australia and overseas.

Being a coloured pencil artist makes my task even harder, but at least I was selected in 2009. I know I am capable of being selected again, but my chances are slim. This doesn’t daunt me and after much thought and preparation I began my 2011 entry in March, not long after the conclusion of this year’s exhibition.

Preparation is not that difficult once you know what you want to do. The hardest thing is keeping up the enthusiasm and the momentum.

My entry has reached stage one, the block-out stage. Now for all the relevant detail. I am taking a break from the drawing and have started a new, completely unrelated work to give myself a ‘change of scenery’.

I feel lately that I have been climbing Mount Everest. I have reached the base camp …

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

