BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY 2.


“How long did it take you to do that drawing?” This is the most asked question I get when I’m at exhibitions where my work is being featured.

I’ve often wondered what this obsession is that people have with time. It seems that the amount of monetary reward is linked to the length (time) of sustained effort that artists put into creating their work. I don’t agree.

It’s not how long it takes to create a piece of art, but how successful the artwork is.

Today’s featured drawing Cold Tea (110 x 80 cm), was my entry for this year’s Glover Art Prize. It took me months to do. It was painstaking work, but I persevered until it was completed. Although the drawing wasn’t selected for the exhibition I was pleased with what I had achieved.

We should appreciate the product, the process in this case is secondary.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BE CAREFUL WHAT YOU SAY 2.

  1. Tony Eastwood says:

    Hi Richard,
    I wish that was my cup of tea 😉
    Very nice!

    You wrote: “We should appreciate the product, the process in this case is secondary.” I get your point, I think: the (quality of) the ‘product’ is not a matter of how much time (is money) was spent on it.

    Yet, on the other hand, you write: “It took me months to do. It was painstaking work, but I persevered until it was completed.”

    So I wonder, for you, as the creator of the product, isn’t the time you have spent working on it, far more important than the resulting product? Is not that process for you the primary thing?

    regards,
    Tony

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Tony,
      Nice hearing from you and thanks for your comments.
      This particular drawing was for me, a joy at certain points in its creation. However, there were moments when it was painful both emotionally and physically stressful. I did this drawing simply to enter a prestigious art prize. I didn’t get selected, but that’s the risk you take. I don’t think CP drawing is that ‘process-friendly’, and it’s more a case of enjoying the product. Regards, Richard

Leave a Reply

