FIGHTING THE GOOD FIGHT


I have commenced another drawing (number 3) in my Salamanca Landscape series. This collection of drawings is based on interpretations of rocks set in concrete at the Port of Hobart. This mightn’t sound romantic or of high academic merit, but I can assure you that I’m finding this work stimulating and quite exciting (am I mad, or what!).

Why draw such work for a conservative market?

Lately I have been getting increasingly fed up with the traditional, safe market that I work in. Next year I am moving to Cairns in Far North Queensland for at least 12 months. The market there is even more conservative than the Tasmanian scene! Why bother with abstract work?

The older I get, the more I am determined to do what is truly me, and I refuse to be driven (or seduced) by market forces and trends.

I have little chance of finding a market for this type of work, but I love doing it. Isn’t that what art is really about?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to FIGHTING THE GOOD FIGHT

  1. Kate Bausch says:

    Wow! I just found you and your art! I love your sticks and stones and trees and abstracts….. and pretty much everything. Very inspiring! I am a part-time artist, mainly acrylics, but I spent about 2 years using Prismacolor pencils. I can’t wait to explore your site a little more. But alas, I must get ready to go to work at my “regular” job. I wish so much to be able to draw and paint full-time. Thank you for sharing your artwork here.

  2. excellent post,but i experience some difficulty in understanding the final paragraph, could you please explain a little bit in depth?

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks for your comments. What I meant in the last paragraph was that I enjoy the process of creating abstract art, the product is the reward and selling such work is a bonus. The chances of selling this type of art where I live is rather limited. This probably applies to all types of art. I missed the word, ‘it’ out of the last line, which is now corrected.

  3. Toby Watrous says:

    wow, nice post, I was wondering the same thing. and found your site by bing, many userful stuff here, now i’m a bit clear. bookmarked and also signed up your rss. keep us updated.

  4. Maisie Rietz says:

    Your website is great! This post really caught my eye when I was searching around. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. I wanted to thank you for this nice learn!! I definitely having fun with every little bit of it I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you publish

Leave a Reply

