WINNING SISTERS


Last night I won my third art prize in as many months and my fourth for the year at the Meandering 2010 Art Exhibition at Country Club Tasmania, in Launceston.

Silent Light was the second of two drawings featuring open doors in separate rooms in an old, former shearers’ quarters at the historic property Cheshunt, in Tasmania’s Meander Valley.

What struck me about this particular room was the strong, white light, such a contrast to the light in the other room that resulted in Silence at the Table.

Both drawings were highly challenging, but very satisfying for me and I certainly learnt a lot in regards to light and shadow.

What was particularly pleasing was that I won both prizes in open company.

The Cheshunt property has been a ‘happy hunting ground’ for me, realising 3 art prizes over the past 2 years.

2010 has been my best year art prize-wise, but things will be different next year when I head north to Cairns for 12 months. I hope to produce some artwork, but I’ll be more of a tourist than an artist.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

