A NEW ABSTRACT


Just before Christmas I started a new abstract drawing that is part of my Salamanca series.

This is the 7th drawing and it’s the third of the large set (120 x 80 cm) of five that I have planned. Titled, Mountain, it will be followed by River and Lake.

These works are a difficult task not only because of their size, but also due to their detail. I only expect to finish the current abstract as I will be leaving for Cairns in March.

But why start such a large artwork at this time of the year? I ‘have’ to start now while the idea is ‘fresh’ in my mind, and recorded in my visual diary. I know my timing is not good, but I don’t want to lose this idea because I decided to put it off until my return in April 2012. Artwork won’t wait!

I may even continue this theme while I’m in Cairns, who knows? I expect though that I will have more than enough new experiences to deal with and that I’m unlikely to.

Although today’s featured drawing is in its infancy, one can see the link to its title. The red (Salamanca) line is very evident, but this time its playing a different role.

I will explain this drawing in greater detail in future posts.

Richard

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A NEW ABSTRACT

  1. Doreen Cross says:

    Happy New Year Richard. I have not been very active of late but I have still been subscribed to your work and following with interest as always.
    Thank you for sharing so much with us.

    I hope to be more organised in 2011.

    Best Wishes.
    Doreen.

    • artkleko says:

      A Happy New Year to you too, Dors! I’m not sure if I’ll be that active next year blog-wise. I hope to keep blogging until the middle of March before we leave for Cairns. After that, I expect I’ll post now and then.
      I quite enjoy blogging and it will be a little weird next year not posting as regularly as I am at present.
      Love your blog, by the way.
      Regards, Richard

  2. Kaci Gerke says:

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

Leave a Reply

