MOUNTAIN: UPDATE 2.


My latest abstract drawing titled Mountain, is slowly, but surely taking shape. At 120 x 80 cm and drawn in coloured pencil, it is a major undertaking at anytime of the year, let alone over the Christmas/New Year period. One must do these things while they are ‘fresh’ in one’s mind and ‘attitude’. I am currently in the ‘abstract zone’, so it’s time to get to work!

I have almost finished tidying up my studio in preparation for my trip to Cairns in March. I am taking some examples of my work and a good selection of coloured pencils, along with my reliable Ledah 333 electric pencil sharpener.

Back to today’s drawing! This work is the latest in my Salamanca series. In this drawing I have taken many of the shapes in Salamanca III and Salamanca Landscape and re-arranged them. This is not duplication, but more of a test of my imagination as I try to explore ideas that are realistically-based, in a more abstract form.

This whole series of drawings has come from one slab of concrete at the Hobart wharves. I love this sort of challenge.

We always look above, beyond and around, but how many times do we look down at what we are standing on?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

