WHAT LIES UNDERNEATH


Top: The South Esk River at Conroy’s Gap, a farming property near Mathinna in Tasmania’s Northeast Highlands.

Bottom: Liffey Falls, Meander Valley, in Northern Tasmania.

Never underestimate the influence of the colour of the paper you are working on when creating a coloured pencil drawing.

Today’s examples are drawn on a yellow ochre coloured background. Can you see the colour appearing now and then in both of the featured drawings?

These days I use an ochre coloured pastel board for most of my work, but now and then I will employ a different colour, depending on the ‘mood’ of the subject I’m drawing.

I’m a great fan of coloured papers (supports). I believe they give a more ‘painterly’ look than one gets from white or very light supports. White backgrounds often tend to result in quite ‘graphic’ work.

I don’t want my drawings to look like drawings, I want them to look as though they have been painted.

If you could produce the same drawing on six different coloured supports you would get six different results.

Next week I will post some examples using a variety of coloured backgrounds, but first on Monday, I’ll post an update of my latest abstract work, Mountain.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to WHAT LIES UNDERNEATH

  1. Gillian says:

    These are amazing, Richard. I don’t think I could begin to try a waterfall and yet you’ve mastered it!
    By coincidence I’ve recently been struggling with a pastelmat support in a medium taupe colour for white flowers. It was hard to bring out the contrast and get the higlights bright enough but I don’t think that using a white support would have been the answer. I wanted to use a pale blue but of course didn’t have any. What would you have chosen?

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Gillian, White on a white support doesn’t work. I use a lot of white, so I shy away from any white sup[port when using it. I would go with a blue support, even a deep shade. The only problem with a deep blue is that your yellows may look green, but that can be a good thing!

  2. Gillian says:

    Thanks Richard – I guess I really do need some blue Pastelmat.

  3. I know this is really boring and you are skipping to the next comment, but I just wanted to throw you a big thanks – you cleared up some things for me!

Leave a Reply

