MOUNTAIN: UPDATE 4.


A weekend free from drawing has been most beneficial to my hands resulting in some quality drawing time this week on my latest work, Mountain.

There is a fine line between obsession and dedication and lately I seem to have welded the two together as I strive to finish this drawing before I head to Cairns in March.

I’m at the stage where I am ‘fine tuning’ the composition, adding new details as they come to mind. This is a semi-abstract drawing that doesn’t demand the rigid rules concerning the content of realistic work. I can add/subtract what I like.

On Tuesday, I placed 6 of the 7 drawings I have created from the Salamanca theme, around my drawing table. I was encouraged with what I saw. My first drawing was not included as it is one of my entries in this year’s Glover Prize. The next 6 drawings revealed the changes I had made since my first effort. All the drawings are taken from the initial subject, that being a red line over a slab of concrete. Since then my work has developed in such a way that each piece has its own identity.

I have two more planned, but I’m unsure when I will tackle those.

Having a theme is a challenge, but a rewarding one. The danger is not to repeat or ‘rubber stamp’ your original idea. I’m enjoying how this series of drawings has developed and aim to have an exhibition of my collective exploits some day.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

