SUMMIT REACHED


Mountain 120 x 80 cm

Polychromos and Prismacolor pencils on Canson pastel board

At last, I have climbed my mountain!

After several weeks of trial, tribulation and sore fingers, I have completed another drawing in my Salamanca series.

This one is a departure from my earlier works in that it introduces a more recognisable element and has therefore become more of a semi-abstract work, than the abstract nature of my earlier pieces.

This change in direction doesn’t worry me, in fact it gave me a refreshing, new perspective on my current theme.

Last weekend while I was in Hobart, I re-visited ‘my red line’ and took a number of photos which I intend to study closely and see if I can see some new possibilities for future works.

So far I have interpreted my Salamanca theme in three ways: 1. Emotional/historical, 2. Purely abstract, 3. Landscape orientated.

The only link is the red line and I feel that this is the one aspect I must keep as it was what I saw first on the footpath at the Hobart waterfront.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SUMMIT REACHED

  1. Interesting and useful information. I just wanna tell U “Thanks”. Thanks!
    Im glad to see this informative article. Thanks for such helpful and useful post.

  2. Gillian says:

    Bravo, Richard. This can be ‘read’ so many ways – it’s one of those pieces that holds attention in a gallery – a real show-stopper.

Leave a Reply

