WALKING THE LINE


Last week I decided that I should review all the work that I have completed so far in my Salamanca series. This collection of abstract works features a red line that is painted along the Hobart waterfront. Its role is to denote the waterfront’s land boundary.

Lines such as this one send out a number of messages. Firstly, this line is a boundary marker. One can cross it, but not park one’s car on it. There is a certain mystery about this line. Where does it lead to? Where does it start and end? Why is it red?

In my first drawing (vertical, right) I recorded the line and its surrounding concrete as I saw it. My second work took on a strong symbolic meaning. That particular drawing (not shown) is one of my entries in this year’s Glover Prize.

Two other drawings (top & bottom, left) continue to track the journey of the line.

I have also completed two, quite large drawings, a much smaller one and I’m presently working on an eighth piece.

One of my completed works is an off-shoot of the continuous straight, red line.

I am trying to interpret this line in a number of ways and I want viewers to be open-minded when they see these works. Is it just a line, or is there more here than meets the eye?

Richard

 

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to WALKING THE LINE

  1. Gillian says:

    I’m enjoying seeing these put together as well as separate artworks. Maybe you could make a composite using this idea or a triptych?

    I bet you’re glad you haven’t moved to Cairns yet, given the awful news of that cyclone. I do so feel for those poor people of Queensland. x

    • artkleko says:

      I’m hoping to have an exhibition of these works, Gillian, but I’m not sure when.
      Cairns has escaped the brunt of Yasi, and I’m glad we didn’t go earlier!
      Regards, Richard

  2. There’s noticeably a bundle to learn about this. I assume you made certain good factors in features also.

Leave a Reply

