GLOVER 2011 UPDATE 1.


Tasmanian Rock Art 120 x 80 cm

Coloured Pencil on pastel board

I didn’t make the final list for this year’s Glover Prize, but I thought I would post today and tomorrow, photos of the two works that I submitted along with their respective artist’s statements.

An extraordinary variety of rocks can be found along the northern Tasmanian coastline. Some are rich in texture while others feature strong, abstract patterns.

There is a delightful contrast between visually ‘active and passive’ rocks.

Driftwood pieces break the rock mass, adding a linear quality and rhythm to the composition.

Although noted for its outstanding examples of realism, Nature has also mastered the principles of abstraction.

More tomorrow.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to GLOVER 2011 UPDATE 1.

  1. andrew says:

    very good work, bespoke canvas pictures sometimes can be a hard art to as this is waht i do but yes this is truly artwork

  2. I’m often to blogging and i really recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I’m going to bookmark your site and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

  3. I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to weblog and seriously enjoyed this web site. Most likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You actually come with superb writings. Bless you for sharing with us your web-site.

  4. I couldn’t currently have asked for a better blog. You happen to be available to offer excellent guidance, going straight away to the point for easy understanding of your readership. You’re truly a terrific pro in this subject. Many thanks for always being there visitors like me.

  5. Oviedo says:

    Hi there! I simply would like to give an enormous thumbs up for the great data you could have right here on this post. I will be coming again to your weblog for more soon.

  6. I do so love all the shapes, textures and patterns. Those of us who love exploring such things at the beach really appreciate the way you make an artwork out of the real and abstracted qualities. Look forward to tomorrow’s.
    Evelyn

Leave a Reply

