GLOVER PRIZE 2011 UPDATE 2.


Salamanca Landscape 80 x 110

Coloured pencil on pastel board

This was my second entry in this year’s Glover Prize, and my favourite.

Salamanca Landscape is a section of concrete footpath at the Hobart waterfront. What is unique is that this section of concrete is both a man-made landscape and a time capsule.In the concrete are buried stones quarried close by, from the original landscape as discovered in 1803, the year that saw the settlement of Hobart Town established.

A red line travels across the surface, an indication of Hobart’s waterfront boundary, but it is also a strong symbolic reminder of the early settlers’ attempt to rid the island of its indigenous population.

Objects resembling flints can be seen buried in the concrete. Landscape objects such as trees and an outline of Mount Wellington are distinguishable within a central line of bitumen.

A small cluster of stones, much like the Southern Cross, a black ‘sun’ and a shape similar to that of this island state add to the objects trapped within this concrete coat that hides not only the landscape underneath, but a myriad of sins by the early white settlers.

TOMORROW: How do you deal with rejection?

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to GLOVER PRIZE 2011 UPDATE 2.

  1. Tomas says:

    The picture of the cross caught my eyes at a glimpse and your words awake the symbol- helped me to hear better the nature on your drawing and thus opened a door to the light. Thank you for the release of the red line from any distractions. You made the cross into the highway, enabled me to enjoy my visual travel. Good work.

  2. Nice post. I study one thing more difficult on totally different blogs everyday. It can at all times be stimulating to read content material from different writers and practice a little something from their store. I’d desire to use some with the content on my weblog whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll provide you with a link on your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  3. what wanderful artwork you have, your very talented

  4. After examine a few of the blog posts in your website now, and I truly like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and will probably be checking again soon. Pls check out my web page as nicely and let me know what you think.

  5. Can I just say what a relief to search out someone who really is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know easy methods to carry a problem to gentle and make it important. More folks have to read this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant imagine youre not more popular since you definitely have the gift.

  6. eXp Realty says:

    I’d need to check with you here. Which isn’t one thing I usually do! I get pleasure from studying a publish that will make people think. Also, thanks for permitting me to remark!

  7. Luigi Fulk says:

    I gave you a link back on one of my pr6 pages, I hope this is ok.

Leave a Reply

