GRAPHITE PENCIL


This morning I am talking to a class of year 11 drawing students at Launceston College.

Seeing as they are involved with graphite pencil drawing, I thought it appropriate to post some of my earlier efforts in graphite.

I have a brand new box of Derwent Graphite pencils to take with me to Cairns and I’m looking forward to using them.

Being primarily  hard-edged in my art, I tend to use graphite pencils that have strong tonal contrasts.

Working on heavyweight watercolour paper with a medium tooth adds ‘drama’ to one’s work.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to GRAPHITE PENCIL

  1. westwood says:

    Your work is really, really impressive.

  2. Gillian says:

    Wow – I love those, Richard. My fav is the one at bottom right – any chance you could show it larger?

    I’m glad that students are being taught drawing skills there. Just the other day I was reading about an open competition from a few years ago, inaugerated in honour of the Welsh artist Cyffin Williams. Apparently, the entries from art college students were so poor that the prize for that category couldn’t be awarded. They no longer teach drawing!

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks Gillian, I’ll see what I can do in relation to the drawing that caught your eye.
      You’re spot-on in regards to the teaching of drawing. There has been an enormous decline in art skill standards over the past 30 years. Maybe there’s a blog post to come!

  3. Joan Birkett says:

    Welcome to Cairns, Richard , just a spot up the track from my hometown. Sorry you have arrived at such a wet time this year.
    Because of Cyclones and floods etc . I have found no time for art this year.
    I love the Graphite picture of the track between the trees.
    And I love the fact that you have not “tidied up ” the old houses, but that you have presented beauty in their agedness.

Leave a Reply

