OLD HOUSE IN GRAPHITE


I drew this old, decaying house many years ago, but it’s no longer standing. I’m glad I was able to draw it before its demise.

Objects showing signs of decay and weathering are always of interest  to me.

Capturing the mood and character of such subjects is a greater challenge in graphite than it is in coloured pencil.

Looking at these greyscale drawings, one is  ‘drawn’ to the shapes, light and shadows, because there is no colour to grab your attention.

I urge anyone who is about to start drawing with coloured pencils to spend some time in the world of greyscale with graphite pencils. You will appreciate adding colour after you have grasped the principles of design, shape, tone, light and shadow.

More tomorrow.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to OLD HOUSE IN GRAPHITE

  1. Gillian says:

    It was well worth the wait to see this one closer, Richard – thank you! A great lesson in seeing values. Colour pencil work can often look flat if those lights and darks are missing and it’s sometimes a struggle.
    I love old buildings and decay so this is right up my street – although not literally. ^_^

    • artkleko says:

      Cheers, Gillian. I’m looking forward to my time in the tropics especially looking for all buildings. Decay is so quick in this region and I hope to ‘gather’ some interesting subjects.
      I’m glad all is well in your street!
      Regards, Richard

Leave a Reply

