THE MOSSMAN GORGE


On Monday morning we visited the Mossman Gorge, about an hour’s drive north of Cairns. It was hot (31c) and a little sticky, but we enjoyed our time there and I took about 80 photos.

We left later that morning and ate lunch at Port Douglas and had a short walk . It was hotter there as there were no cooling breezes. Boy, we were appreciative of our car’s air conditioner!

Mossman Gorge is a wonderful contrast with another rainforest that is of particular interest to me near Lake Barrington in Tasmania. The latter is quite dry and full of eucalypt leaves. The former is wet and there is much decay about. Both offer wonderful subject matter for any artist.

As you can see, I have chosen several examples that have strong abstract qualities.

The fish are jungle perch and they can be found in the Mossman River and are very tame.

There are many lizards about, and one stopped long enough for a photo.

Out of all the photos I took yesterday are some that give me enough stimulus to start a drawing soon. Before that happens, I will collect a few ‘local’ leaves and draw them with pen or graphite pencil.

I shall post some artwork when I get round to doing something. Yesterday I bought a drawing board, some ‘serious’ paper and an A4 sketch diary, so you can see that I’m starting to adapt to the climate and I’m getting interested in producing some artwork in the not-too-distant future.

More on Friday when I’ll post a sketch in graphite that I completed this morning.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to THE MOSSMAN GORGE

  1. Gillian says:

    What a great montage of images. I’m struck by the saturated colours and the wonderful quality of light you must be enjoying – something I can only dream about here in Wales!

Leave a Reply

