TROPICAL ABSTRACT


On Friday, I completed a very quick drawing of a leaf pattern from my ‘collection’.

As you can see, I’m not set up for any serious drawing at this stage. I do have a drawing board and all the required accessories, but I need some pastel board, and I should have some by this week.

I get a lot of joy out of drawing patterns in Nature. For me, they are a great source of inspiration for ideas when producing abstract art.

When one draws one should ‘interpret’, not copy. I don’t see the point in a clinical reproduction of something. One can’t develop a personal style working this way. You need to see through your own eyes. We all ‘see’ differently and it’s not just about skill.

The ability of an artist to produce something truly personal is to be treasured and admired. Why is it then that people always flock to art that is ‘photographic’? Such art has done all the ‘explaining’ for you. There’s nothing more to work out, no imagination required. When you look at such work for a second time, you only see what you saw when you first looked.

Maybe I’ve just answered my question.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TROPICAL ABSTRACT

  1. April says:

    Nice work for sure! Great you have such focus so soon.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks, April. I am getting more motivated as each day passes, but I’m still in ‘tourist mode’ and because of the heat it’s hard to concentrate on one thing for a long period of time.
      I have however, a great collection of ideas for cp work.

  2. April says:

    Enjoy being in tourist mode it does no harm. Oh, and many thanks for your kind comments and follow at my new blog. I look forward to posting!

Leave a Reply

