MOTIVATION


One of (if not the greatest) challenges all artists face is the ability to be suitably motivated to create a piece of artwork.

There are numerous factors to consider and sitting here at Trinity Beach on a typical tropical morning isn’t the place to get too analytical, so I shall not dwell deeply on the subject of motivation (this time).

Motivation is all about attitude, not just to art, but to life itself. One creates because one wants or needs to. Doing something when you want to do it will (usually) result in a positive outcome.

Motivation isn’t something that can be turned on like a switch although there are times when something triggers a creative response.

Artist’s block is the greatest form of negativity an artist can have. It can be cured, even prevented.

The more research, collation and recording of ideas you can do, the better your chances of having a starting point.

I take heaps of photos wherever I go. I also collect objects such as leaves, rocks, seeds, seed pods and driftwood. I love sorting through my collections to get ideas.

Living in the tropics is so far removed from what I’ve done for the past 60 years. I cannot describe how I feel about this move as it’s been only just over 2 weeks since we left Tasmania. I’ve had some ‘good’ and ‘bad’ days, but overall I am slowly adjusting to the climate. The fact that I’m getting keen to draw is a positive sign. I have pastelboard, a drawing board, pencils and subject matter ready to go. I’ve even completed 2 sketches.

I now need to take the next step.

We visited Barron Falls last Sunday, only about 30 minutes’ drive from our apartment. This is a magnificent place and I am keen to draw the middle photo. This type of subject really motivates me. The noise at the falls was quite thunderous. How do you paint sound?

Friday: Promoting your art.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to MOTIVATION

  1. Tomas says:

    These photos are great. Your are the blessed to witness such miracles. I can just to dream about watching something alike, but I am glad the most for your words that reveal the deep wisdom. You wrote “Motivation is all about attitude, not just to art, but to life itself” I have rewritten them into my diary. Thank you. Attitude to life is a key to what we see in a mirror. My last post place of creativity http://artbytomas.blogspot.com/2011/03/place-of-creativity.html (please look at it) deals with the same issue – the same idea is put into the text in between the lines.

  2. April says:

    Great post….and what I needed to hear.

  3. Gillian says:

    Another thoughtful post. For me procrastination is the killer of creativity – that and working out what my next subject will be, etc. Sometimes it’s easier just to web-surf!

    I look forward to your new tropical work. x

    • artkleko says:

      That happens to me too, Gillian. Sometimes I have too many ideas and can’t decide which one to pursue. That’s probably why I often have 2 or 3 drawings on the go at the same time!

  4. Fereleth Lee says:

    the 2nd photo that you ask how do you paint sound? there is a figure on the right, made out of rock….do you not see it? Thats how you paint sound in that photo…the figure is already there listening, accenuate the figure. love your blog. Ferri (a fellow artist looking for inspiration)

Leave a Reply

