PROMOTING YOUR ART


I called in to the Smithfield Newsagency on Tuesday to see if the latest edition of Artist’s Palette had arrived. It had, and (part) of my 2009 Glover drawing was on the front page! Inside there is a 4 page feature about my work and a 3 page tutorial where I go through the steps of creating a drawing along with some tips on working with coloured pencils.

Promoting one’s art is not an easy task. I believe that you have to make the first move. In some instances I have been asked if I would be interested in having my work featured on websites or published. I haven’t always said, yes. One needs to think carefully about when and where one’s work is being featured and ‘why’. Is it for your benefit or simply for the benefit of others?

I contacted Artist’s Palette last year to see if they were interested and they were. I’m pleased that I said ‘yes’ to their proposal. The quality of the magazine is excellent and I am very impressed with the clarity of my artwork that was included.

A big ‘thankyou’ to Editor, Trevor Lang.

No-one will know about your art unless you get out there and tell them! Websites and blog sites are good, but there are many other ways to reach a broader audience of potential buyers. Business cards, magazines, radio interviews, newspaper articles and joining art groups are some of the ways you can get your work noticed.

Self-promotion isn’t about ego, it’s about belief in one’s self.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to PROMOTING YOUR ART

  1. Edna says:

    Well done Richard. This achievement will help to overcome any art block caused by new surroundings.

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks, Edna. Lovely hearing from you! This afternoon I actually put pencil to pastel board and started something! I shall post an update on my blog next Wednesday. When you find out, can you let me know the results from the Eskleigh Art Award?
      Cheers, Richard.

  2. April says:

    Great magazine which I will be subscribing to!! Thank you for your kind comments at my blog, btw.

  3. Gillian says:

    That’s brilliant, Richard. Was the cover a total surprise? Congrats on getting your work published and once more spreading the word about CPs!

    • artkleko says:

      Thanks, Gillian. Yes, the cover was totally unexpected, but I must say that I was chuffed at seeing one of my drawings in the magazine stand at the newsagent’s.

Leave a Reply

