TROPICAL DRAWING 1.


After 3 weeks in the tropics of Far North Queensland, I’ve finally commenced a coloured pencil drawing. Adjusting to the heat and missing my studio back in Tasmania have been hurdles that I am at last beginning to overcome.

Instead of something truly ‘tropical’ by definition, I have decided to draw a section of the Barron Falls. I love drawing water, especially waterfalls. The palette for this work is the same as I would use back in Tasmania. Wouldn’t you know it, I didn’t bring the pencils I needed for this drawing! I had to go and buy some and after 2 sessions totalling about 4 hours I have a drawing that’s starting to make some visual sense.

At 60 x 80 cm, it’s a sizeable piece of work, but I wanted the power of the waterfall to confront viewers.

Pencils used so far: Prismacolors – White, French Grey 10%, Light Umber, Dark Brown, (Polychromos) Black.

Waterfalls are very majestic subjects and I want to do justice to this impressive section of the Barron Falls.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to TROPICAL DRAWING 1.

  1. Gillian says:

    That’s quite an undertaking, Richard. Assuming the taupe colour is your support I’m amamzed at how bright you’ve managed to get the white areas – something I struggle with. x

    • artkleko says:

      The support is sepia, Gillian, as I was unable to get my ‘usual’, Havarne Clair. I find that you can get a good covering of white using layers and spraying fixative after each layer. I have noticed that Prismacolors are easier to apply in warm conditions and that may also be a contributing factor.

  2. Gillian says:

    That’s a good tip, thanks.

  3. April says:

    This has great promise Richard. It’s always fun to see how your drawings develop so I’ll be back to see how this and your tropical stones progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

