BARRON FALLS WIP


My first major drawing since arriving in the Tropics is starting to take on a more three-dimensional appearance. There is still a good deal of ‘layering’ to do. The ‘forward’ sections of water and foam need more white, while the ‘recessive’ areas require more French Grey 10%. This will result in greater depth. Strong, single strokes will give movement.

Although I am working with a limited palette because of the subject and the lack of natural light, I am confident that I can do justice to such a powerful subject.

I want to complete this drawing over the next week as I am keen to start another one, this time half the size of my current drawing and featuring some of the rocks and seed pods I’ve collected from near where I live.

Wednesday: Glaskin’s Gallery.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to BARRON FALLS WIP

  1. Edna says:

    Beautiful work Richard! You’ve bought a bit of Tasmania with you in this drawing.

  2. April says:

    Wow. I really love the progress on this one, it’s really beautiful already!! Tay the detail is coming together and I admire that you are doing your new surroundings such justice so soon. I think it would take me a lot longer to settle back into the swing of things if I had moved somewhere completely new. Did you say you’re working with Prismacolour pencils?

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you, April for your words of encouragement. It hasn’t been easy, drawing in the tropics, but I am determined to ‘put some runs on the board, early’.
      And yes, all but one pencil is Prismacolor. They are so smooth and buttery to work with in the Tropics

  3. Tomas says:

    I like this drawing. It talks like all your pictures do. Impressive drawing. The awakening.

  4. I love works with a sense of movement, as this has. It’s looking good Richard. Your comment on the change in the feel of the pencils in the tropics is interesting, but makes sense. Good to hear all is going so well.
    Evelyn

Leave a Reply

