TRINITY BEACH STILL LIFE WIP.


With the completion of my Barron Falls drawing (I’m taking it to a framer today), I have commenced a still life featuring objects that I have collected from Trinity Beach. At 60 x 40 cm, it’s half the size of my first ‘tropical’ drawing, but it’s a size that is appropriate for such a subject.

The rocks are quite different in size and detail to what I was used to in Tasmania. I’m adding some seed pods to give it a ‘local’ feel.

I’m not rushing this drawing as Val and I are keen to continue exploring, but I will post an update when there is more to see.

Since I started this drawing I have collected a fairly large group of objects that I intend to arrange and photograph over the next week or so. Beaches are a wonderful source of subject material for artists and I’m looking forward to seeing what I can come up with.

On Wednesday we visited Babinda where Val enjoyed a wonderful time at Scrap Therapy. We both think that this is the best scrapbooking shop in Australia! You can check out what Lee-Anne and Danny have to offer by visiting:

http://www.scraptherapy.com.au

And no, I’m not being paid to advertise this business. When something is this good I believe in telling everyone.

While we were in the Babinda area we visited The Boulders and Josephine Falls. I have some great photos for future drawings.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TRINITY BEACH STILL LIFE WIP.

  1. April says:

    Superb work. Can’t wait to see your waterfall drawing completed. Thank you for the lovely comment at my blog, and as always for visiting. 🙂

    • artkleko says:

      Cheers, April. Unfortunately I forgot to photograph the drawing before it went to the framer. However, I will take one before I submit it to the ‘Artists of the Far North’ Exhibition on May 9.

  2. Lee-Anne says:

    Thanks guys for the lovely compliment – the best in Australia is a hard title to live up to but we will try – Danny and I both thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both as well and I am sure we will see more of you whilst you are in North Qld.

    • artkleko says:

      I’m sure you will cope with the pressure, Lee-Anne! I will do a drawing or two from our Babinda visit, but not for a while. Next week I’ll have a photo of Josephine Falls(Monday) and The Boulders (Wednesday) on my photoblog, after 5pm.
      artklekosphotoblog.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

