DRAWING COMPLETED


Trinity Beach Still Life

Coloured pencil on pastel board   60 x 40 cm

Drawing number 2 is now completed and I’m already developing an idea that again involves objects from the beach, but with an abstract twist.

I quite enjoyed creating this drawing. There was a lot of ‘what I know’ in it and very little experimentation. The rocks were quite different to what I’m used to in Tasmania, but they are still rocks. The seed pods were a welcomed addition, but I’ll need to add more new subjects to my drawings in future if I’m to make them truly ‘tropical’.

I have found living in the tropics a huge challenge in more ways than one. I am pleased that I have been able to produce 2 drawings inside the first 5 weeks of my stay. I have already gathered a large collection of photos that will no doubt provide me with many ideas. I just don’t want to draw ‘still life’ compositions. I want to develop something fresh and new.

Time will tell.

There is much to see and new adventures to be had!

Friday: Not one, but two new drawings are revealed in their very early stages.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to DRAWING COMPLETED

  1. April says:

    Lovely piece. I saw this on your RB site.
    You’re right when you say a lot of ‘what you know’ goes into a drawing. I feel this way with my stones but that I’ve feel I’ve become a little too familiar with them ~ I hope the coming weeks unveil some exciting pieces for you.

  2. Richard Klekociuk says:

    Thanks, April. I will wait patiently for your artistic ‘goodies’ to appear.

  3. Gillian says:

    A beautiful ‘tumble’ of objects – as if you just discovered them washed up on the beach like that. Another Klekociuk masterpiece. x

  4. Carmen says:

    The more I look at it, the more I like it. Really beautiful atmosphere and angle of vision. Keep exploring. Greetings!

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you, Carmen. Exploring this ‘new world’ I’m in is quite an adventure and I’m enjoying visiting so many new places, each giving me possibilities for new artworks.

  5. Wayne Tully says:

    The light and shadow of this piece is amazing as is the exact and meticulous detail of the stones and various objects you’d find on a beach, for some reason I was drawn to the grey pebble in the middle of the artwork.

    What colored pencils did you use for this?

    • artkleko says:

      Hi Wayne, nice to hear from you, and thanks for your comments. For this drawing I used Prismacolor pencils. I find that here in the tropics they are very ‘buttery’ and cover the pastel board easily and evenly.
      By the way, you were right, the central grey pebble is the focal point.
      Cheers, Richard.

Leave a Reply

