SEMI-ABSTRACT WIP 2.


I have managed to add some more detail to my latest drawing, a semi-abstract still life of objects from my ‘collection’. At first glance it may appear that I haven’t added much since my first update, but I can assure you that there’s quite a deal, albeit ‘delicate’ of information added.

The background will be made up of small stones and shapes from the featured objects. To be honest, I don’t want a traditional background. This composition will have a level playing field, part of the luxury of it being semi-abstract.

I have also enclosed a close-up view of a section to give you an idea of how much detail this drawing will have upon its completion. This type of work is intense and after several hours’ work, seemingly little progress can be seen. But hopefully, it will all be worth it in the end.

Before I left Tasmania, I damaged my left arm just below my shoulder. After 10 weeks of discomfort I finally had a cortisone injection yesterday morning (ouch!). My arm feels better already and after 5 days’ rest I will be able to enjoy the sea and our swimming pool a lot better than I have since our arrival, a day over 8 weeks ago.

Friday: Is the price right? Part 1. The first in a series of 3 posts discusses how we should price our artwork. This is an update of my previous articles on this topic and in part 3 I will present some examples of pricing. I welcome any comments on this topic, so please reply if you have something to add to the ‘mix’.

I am currently writing an article titled ‘Does size matter?‘ Here I challenge the notion that the bigger the painting, the bigger the price.

Richard

About artkleko

artist, art curator, art teacher, art judge, art critic
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to SEMI-ABSTRACT WIP 2.

  1. Tomas says:

    Your drawings aren’t the abstract. They knock on the heart like the photography of our soul. Thank you for the awakening.
    Respectfully
    Art of Butterfly in Plaster

    • artkleko says:

      This drawing will become more abstract, Tomas over time. Even in the detail of abstraction our mind weaves images that we understand or identify with.

  2. Gillian says:

    How lovely to see a close detail of your work, Richard. For some reason this piece makes me think of chocolate (but then most things do) and I find it fascinating. x

  3. April says:

    Sorry to hear about your arm! Many thanks for the plug Richard. I am working on a fabulous Turkish Delight painting as I speak ~ some fabulous detail in the pink foil not to mention the colours!! I really must re-do these in future on massive canvasses to show up the beautiful detail.

    (do you know, I’ve bought so much chocolate (in the name of art) lately that my local supermarket have sent me coupons off my next (bulk) order of chocolate! How sad is that? LOL)

  4. Carmen says:

    You must be having a great time allowing yourself to get lost in details, releasing your so called right brain. Sorry to hear about your tendinitis, I hope it gets cured soon. Take care. I love the painting.

    • artkleko says:

      Thank you Carmen for your good wishes. Yes, it is nice at times to take a risk with one’s art. I think I’m at the age where I should think that way more often.
      Kind regards, Richard.

  5. Rae says:

    FIRST TIME ON ANYONE’S BLOG! I am really enjoying seeing your new work via technology Richard. Looking forward to seeing you when you get down this way. In the meantime I will keep watching as your fascinating work progresses. Wow, does this mean this old girl is becoming computer literate?

  6. Nora Fraser says:

    yes I am happy you are not truly retired and that your creativity and your talent can get people excited–I too was an art teacher — keep on going

Leave a Reply

